Round 1: Ahmednagar Checkers are sole leaders

The team Ahmednagar Checkers owned by RBS Sportsethix defeated Goel Gang Group owned Pune Attackers by a 3.5-2.5 score to emerge sole leaders after round one. The encounter between Thane Combatants (owned by mep Infrastructuure developers) and Mumbai Movers (Owned by SHEL) ended in a draw with each side scoring two victories and two games ending in draws. Defending Champions Jalgaon Battlers (Owned by Jain Irrigation) also had to settle for a draw against Pune TruMasters (owned by Truspace).

Those expecting high profile Grandmaster encounters in the first round of the six player, six team event were in for a treat as some of the biggest names in this 3rd edition of the Maharashtra Chess League(MCL) 2015 locked horns in the inaugural round. The one to draw maximum crowds featured GM Vidit Santosh Gujrathi, currently the best youngster player in Maharashtra against seasoned campaigner GM Abhijit Kunte which ended with the youngster sighting victory.

In another high profile tussle, Koneru Humpy despite a better position had to settle for a draw against Eesha Karavde, having less time on her clock.

For Ahmednagar Checkers, GM Abhijeet Gupta, a former World junior Champion and , IM Sunilduth Lyna Narayanan scored the expected victories against IM Padmini Rout and Parnali Dharia but it was Rucha Pujari who scripted the team victory by defeating slightly higher rated Aniruddha Deshpande. GM Venkatesh and Swapnil Dhopade scored for Pune Attackers while the only game to end in deadlock was between Thek Kumar and Shyam Sundar.

Jalgaon Battlers suffered a slight hiccup when highly rated GM B Adhiban had to split point with WGM Mary Ann Gomes even as Vidit and Narayanan Srinath brought in victories for the team. GM S P Sethuraman and Swayam Mishra scored for TruMasters while ABhishek Kelkar was held to a draw by Mohammad Nubairshah Shaikh.